top of page

My Life as an Optimist


This is a video I made that, I think, sums up my life as an optimist.

Because of the way that my brain functions and the way that I was raised, I tend to be more optimistic which means I "see the glass half full". For my whole life, my parents have raised me to be kind to others and to see the brighter side of every situation. Because of this, my brain is essentially hardwired to be happy and work my hardest to make others happy as well. Living life as a optimist is a very good trait and I consider myself lucky to be this way. Yet, like most things in life, optimism surprisingly has it's down sides in life.

Even though 95% of the time being an optimist is a fantastic trait, I occasionally fall into states of self doubt, anxiety, and anger (also known as teenage angst). During these times, I find it very difficult to be optimistic, and even though this might not seem like a big deal, it feels that way to me; this is because I feel like if I'm not optimistic, I'm not me. Most people who know me know that I'm always happy and joyful. So when I feel this angst, I worry that my friends would think less of me so I become what I call a "pretend optimist". This is when I exclude myself from every conversation possible and try to sit by myself and look the slightest bit happy. As I've gotten older, it has become progressively more difficult to do this as my subconscious is starting to tell me more negative things about myself and become a "fake optimist" seems like a less important trait to have in life. Yet, although there are still negatives to being optimistic, I feel very proud of being an optimist.


RECENT POST
bottom of page